Sweet Potato with Italian Sausage Cream Gravy

Posted: February 5, 2011 in Main Course
Tags: , , , , , ,
Bringing together two of my favorites

Yesterday was a long day, with a seminar class, then research and then a farewell dinner for a friend and then some games and drinks with friends. So that resulted in a late morning for us. I wanted something quick for lunch and while I was making the morning coffee I put a couple of microwaveable sweet potatoes in the microwave. They were done in 10 minutes. Once I was done with my morning coffee, I decided to go ahead and make lunch. Or maybe brunch, because this was both breakfast and lunch for us.

Now that the main dish was ready and I also had some focacia bread ready to be popped into the oven. It was going to be ready in less than 10 minutes. So I decided to make some gravy for the sweet potato. Since there were some hot italian sausages in the freezer I decided to use them up for the gravy. The gravy takes about 20 minutes to prepare and the sweet potatoes, well they are ready by the time the gravy is ready. It serves 2-3 persons.

Ingredients:

  1. 2 large sweet potatoes (cooked)
  2. 1/2 teaspoon salt
  3. 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  4. 1 teaspoon olive oil
  5. 2 italian hot sausages (casing removed)
  6. 1/2 cup red wine
  7. 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  8. 1 tomato (chopped fine)
  9. 1/2 teaspoon red chili powder
  10. 2 tablespoons chopped coriander leaves

Directions:

  1. Cook the sweet potatoes in the microwave till cooked.
  2. Heat the olive oil and cook the italian sausage using a wooden spoon. This will cause the sausage to crumble. Cook till, it is completely cooked.
  3. Remove the sausages from the saucepan and place on a plate lined with a paper towel to remove excess oil.
  4. Spoon out any excess oil from the saucepan, then add the red wine to the saucepan.
  5. Once the red wine starts simmering add the tomatoes to it and let it simmer for about 5 minutes.
  6. Next add the cooked sausages back to the saucepan and let it simmer for 7-9 minutes.
  7. Add the cream and the coriander leaves and mix together.
  8. Remove the saucepan from heat and serve with the sweet potatoes.

I served the sweet potatoes and italian sausage gravy with some focacia bread. Oh and the sweet potatoes were such a beautiful orange color. It was a feast for the taste buds and the eyes. This was a pretty quick and satisfying lunch. I know this one goes into my repertoire of quick to make meals. This is for all those who want to make lunch without spending a long time in the kitchen. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did. And I am sorry about the quality of the pictures, for some reason my camera refused to work. And I had to use my phone camera. Hopefully it isn’t all that bad.

Leave a comment