Bombay Sandwich

Posted: October 15, 2010 in Appetizers, Sandwich, Snacks
Tags: , , , , , ,
A Taste of Bombay…

The other day a friend of mine posted this link on facebook, http://www.cnngo.com/mumbai/eat/40-mumbai-foods-we-cannot-live-without-974140. And that was good enough to trigger a lot of awesome mouth watering memories. I so wanted the bombay sandwich, the Tibbs’  frankie at shivaji park, the samosa chole at Guru Kripa, the vada pav n the list goes on. I was in no mood to make anything that would take more than 1/2 hour. So I decided to make the Bombay sandwich for dinner. I know it’s not so much a dinner meal but well I guess I decide what’s on the menu!!!

And add to that the fact that my mom used to make a version of the bombay sandwich for lunch. And I remember my friends used to devour all of it and well I used to devour their lunch. So I made some Bombay Sandwiches for dinner. I was in such a hurry to eat it all up that I totally missed taking the photos part… But here’s my version of the bombay sandwich recipe. I’ll put up the pics next time I make them. This recipe takes about 1/2 hour to make from start to finish.

Ingredients:

  1. 6 slices of bread (white bread is the original bread used but I used slices of multi-grain bread)
  2. 2-3 medium sized potatoes, boiled and sliced
  3. 2 tomatoes, sliced
  4. 1 large onion, sliced
  5. 1 medium cucumber, sliced
  6. 1 cup fresh coriander
  7. 1/2 cup fresh mint leaves
  8. 1 tablespoon tamarind paste
  9. 3 cloves garlic
  10. 1/8 medium onion
  11. 1 green chili (to taste)
  12. 1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
  13. 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  14. 1/4 teaspoon sugar
  15. salt to taste
  16. butter to spread

Directions:

  • Grind the coriander leaves, mint leaves, tamarind, garlic cloves, 1/8 onion, green chili, cumin powder, lemon juice in a blender.
  • Add salt to taste. If the chili turns out to be too spicy add some more sugar.
  • Spread the butter on one side of a slice, spread the green chutney over the butter and add one layer of potatoes, one layer of tomatoes , one layer of cucumber and one layer of onion.
  • Place the second slice (buttered and green chutney spread on one side) over this and then butter and apply the green chutney on the other side.
  • Again add the vegetables as before and top it off with the third slice of bread (buttered and the green chutney spread).
  • I like to chill the sandwich for half hour in the refrigerator before serving.
  • Cut the sandwich into 4 squares or triangles before serving.
  • This is also served toasted.

This makes 2 sandwiches, which were  pretty filling. I am almost always content with one sandwich. Now that I have made the bombay sandwich and devoured it, I now have my eyes on the frankie. I will most definitely be trying to make one as close as possible to the Tibb’s frankie. (Tibb’s frankie is a chain which makes the most mouth-watering frankies – a must try if you go to Bombay).

My mom’s version of the sandwich was made with a coconut chutney instead of the green chutney. That used to taste awesome too. I must ask her to make one for me the next time I go to India. After all you can never replicate your mom’s recipe. You can just get close enough to it.

Leave a Reply

